Örebro School of Theology – An Introduction

Founded by John Ongman in 1908, the school is fulfilling its core activity to educate and train pastors, leaders and mission workers for the church. The school has been a member of the European Evangelical Accrediting Association (EEAA) since its inception in 1979 and got accredited by this body in 1991. In 1993, the seminarywas accredited by the Swedish state to grant degrees in Theology/Religious Studies (from 2004 on the Bachelor level). Today the school offers a wide variety of courses and programs targeted at various groups.

Academic Programs

Örebro Missionsskola (Örebro School of Theology) offers educational programs with approx. 50 full-time and 130 part-time students from a wide variety of denominations. In cooperation with the Academy for Leadership and Theology (ALT), which is a church-based program, another 100 full-time students are enrolled.

The school offers three academic programs on campus for one to three years of study; a one-year distant learning program (part time); freestanding campus or distance courses; a one year mission and inter-cultural training program (PROMIS). The students are eligible for state grants and loans for their studies.

Örebro School of Theology also offers a non-academic program in Church leadership (Församlingsledarakademin – FL): a two-year program where the student combines campus courses with practical traning together with a mentor in a local church.

English speaking courses offered at Örebro School of Theology


Örebro School of Theology is situated immediately adjacent to a growing university of around 11.000 students in Örebro, a city of about 140.000 citizens. In Sweden housing is normally not provided by the schools. Our students benefit, however, from a large supply of lodging in the area available to students. Thereby the students at Örebro School of Theology share the terms that apply to other students.


The faculty of Örebro School of Theology consists of about 7 full time lecturers and a number of part time lecturers. Twelve faculty members hold PhD/ThD and four are pursuing doctoral studies. The lecturers also teach in other schools in Sweden and abroad.


A merger between three baptist/evangelical denominations in Sweden, Örebromissionen, Helgelseförbundet and Fribaptisterna, had the consequence that Örebro Missionsskola is owned by Evangeliska Frikyrkan (internationally known as Interact). Örebro School of Theology also cooperates with Åbo Akademi and Ansgar Teologiska Högskola (Ansgar College and Theological Seminary) in graduate studies (master programs).

Evangeliska Frikyrkan, the Swedish Pentecostal Movement and the Swedish Alliance Mission together own a four year leadership training program (ALT, Academy for Leadership and Theology). Örebro School of Theology cooperates with this program, as its students join the academic program during their third and fourth year of study.


The one year program gives a Certificate in Theology (60 ECTS credits), the two year program a Diploma in Theology (120 ECTS-credits), and the three year program a Degree of Bachelor of Theology (180 ECTS-credits). The degrees are accredited by the Swedish Higher Education Authority (UKÄ) and the costs are also subsidized by the state. A four year program (Master of Divinity) is accredited by The European Evangelical Accrediting Association (EEAA), which specifically aims at preparing the student for Christian work in churches and mission (see below). However, one fourth of the program does not render credit points in the Swedish university system.

Networks and possibilities

We are delighted that our school enjoys a good reputation and corresponds to a demand for contemporary evangelical theological education. We are happy for the network of contacts with other institutions both within and outside our country; agreements exist with some theological schools that enable our students to take courses in other countries or apply to graduate studies on campus in Örebro.

From 2007 we partake in the Erasmus programme for exhange between students and staff within Europe. We have special agreements with Ansgarsskolen in Norway, Evangelische Theologische Faculteit in Brussels, and Åbo Akademi in Finland. For the future we are interested in developing more international contacts, especially in establishing a recurrent exchange of students and staff with academic institutions in the two-third world.